The ATSWA fulfils a desire need to produce a cadre of middle level manpower within the sub-region required to give effective support and assistance to the professionally qualified Accountant so as to maximize the latter’s efforts. The scheme was conceived as a means primarily of upgrading the skill and competence of the numerous middle-level and potential lower grade workers in an accounting office who require such higher skills both to do their work more competently and to enhance their career potential while giving them status

Currently, the ATSWA Examinations are conducted in 6 West Africa countries namely: Nigeria, Ghana, Liberia, The Gambia, Sierra Leone and Cameroon.Candidates who wish to write the ATSWA examinations must first register as students under the scheme.

The examinations will be taken in March and September of each year. The registration for the March examinations closes on 28th February and registration for the September examination closes on 31st August. On successful completion of ATSWA examinations, graduates of the scheme shall be inducted into membership and designated AATWA.

Candidates who have completed the examinations under the scheme may register for the ICAN Professional Examinations and shall be granted exemption in line with exemption policy of the member body to the Skills Level Coupled with any other exemption.
This is divided into three parts:

  1. Basic Accounting Processes and Systems
  2. Economics
  3. Business Law
  4. Communication Skills

  1. Principles and Practice of Financial Accounting
  2. Public Sector Accounting
  3. Quantitative Analysis
  4. Information Technology

  1. Principles of Auditing
  2. Cost Accounting
  3. Preparing Tax Computations and Returns
  4. Management

In order to register as a student in this regard with, an applicant must hold:

1. Five (5) credit passes including English Language and Mathematics in the SSCE, GCE, and NECO in not more than two sittings, Ordinary National Diploma of any Polytechnic recognized by the Council of the Institute, Diploma from recognized Universities and National Certificate of Education (NCE) from recognised College of Education.

  1. OND (Accountancy) – All subjects in Part I and II
  2. OND/NCE (Financial Studies/Banking and Finance) – All subjects in Part I and Principles and Practice of Financial Accounting in Part II
  3. NCE(Accountancy) – All subjects in Parts I and II
  4. OND/NCE (Business Studies/Business Admin)/DBS Accounting - All subjects in Part I except Business Law
  5. AAT(UK)/CAT(UK) – All Subjects in parts I, II and III except Business Law, Public Sector Accounting and Preparing Tax Computations and Returns
  6. OND/NCE Statistics – Quantitative Analysis only
  7. Qualifications from othe recognized Professional Bodies – subject by subject exemption in Part I and II only
  8. OND of Monotechnics offering Accounting related courses – All subjects in Part I and subject by subject exemption in Part II
  9. OND/NCE Computer Science – Information Technology only
  10. OND/NCE Insurance – Quantitative Analysis Only
  11. OND/NCE Marketing – Economics only
  12. Diploma in Public Accounting - All subjects in Part 1 only
  13. Diploma in Accounting (University) - All subjects in Part 1 only
  14. Advanced Diploma in Accounting(University) - All subjects in Part I and Part II only
  15. OND (Petroleum Marketing and Business studies) – Business Law Only

Our website uses cookies to provide your browsing experience and relevant information. Before continuing to use our website, you agree & accept of our Cookie Policy & Privacy.